Here are rosters for the 2020 North Park and Greater Golden Hill Planning Committee candidates, with links to publicly accessible databases containing more information on each candidate.

North Park Planning Committee (NPPC) Candidates
There are 18 candidates competing for 8 open seats.

(Biographical statements from the candidates themselves posted on the NPPC website can be found here.)

Beau Benko is an Instructor with UC San Diego Recreation.

Darla Dunham is the owner of the Doggy Llama petsitting service in North Park.

Claudia Flores is the organizer of a North Park Neighborhood Watch program.

Daniel Gebreselassie (incumbent) is a Real Estate Broker with Premier Acces Realty and an Enrolled Agent with the Alpha Management tax service.

Ellin Halgunseth is a retired nurse who has worked in the convalescent, acute care, and home health care fields.

Peter Hill is a past NPPC Board Member.

Lizzy Davis Hynd is a Community Organizer at SAY San Diego (Social Advocates for Youth)

Robert (Bob) LaRose is Vice President for Business Development at Assured Wireless Corporation.

Rebecca Lieberman is a Policy Advisor at the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Sarah Cook McAlear (incumbent) is co-owner of Bluefoot Bar and the office manager of her family’s roofing business.

Daniel Molitor is a Senior Analyst for Predictive Analytics at SmartDrive Systems.

Steven Oechel has served as a financial manager and consultant in the U.S. Navy and Booz Allen Hamilton.

Ginger Partyker is registered on, an online resource for hikers and climbers.

Jessica Ripper is a Senior Associate with LeSar Development Consultants.

Robert (Bob) Ryan is a retired union meat cutter (UFCW) and was founder and host of the Spruce Street Summer Solstice block parties.

Diane Strum and her husband, Gene Polley, provide and manage multi-family affordable housing properties in North Park.

Marissa Tucker (incumbent) is a Product Marketing Manager at Parker Hannafin.

Victor Torres is Secretary-Treasurer of Teamsters Local 481 and Vice President of the San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council.

Greater Golden Hill Planning Committee (GGHPC) Candidates

There are 8 candidates competing for 8 open seats.

Timothy Briggs (incumbent) is an English teacher at Inspire Charter Schools.

Susan Bugbee (incumbent) is a retiree of the University of San Diego, where she served as Registrar, and the author of a book about South Park.

Joe Coneglio (incumbent) is a retired Cleveland OH firefighter who serves as Reserve Committee Chair of Alaska SAN AFA-CWA Council 15.

Victoria Curran (incumbent) is a Professor of Communications and Speech at Grossmont College.

Erika Espinosa Araiza (incumbent) is an Administrative Support Coordinator in the Office of the Dean of Arts and Letters at San Diego State University.

Michael Nazarinia (incumbent) is a Loan Restructuring and Modification Specialist.

Valerie Pasquetto (incumbent) is Senior Director, Clinical Biomarkers at Poseida Therapeutics, Inc.

Richard Santini (incumbent) is Analytical Scientist, Senior Medical Device Engineer at Dexcom, and Owner and Head Photographer of RHS Photo Inc.