Here are rosters for the 2018 North Park and Greater Golden Hill Planning Committee candidates, with links to publicly accessible databases containing more information on each candidate.


North Park Planning Committee Candidates
There are 11 candidates competing for 8 open seats.

(This roster provides capsule biographies of the candidates and links to public databases for more information. Biographical statements from the candidates themselves can be found here.)


Steve Doster is a Certified Financial Planner and a Financial Planning Manager at Rowling and Associates.


Daniel Gebreselassie (incumbent) is a Real Estate Broker with Premier Acces Realty and an Enrolled Agent with the Alpha Management tax service


Troy Geyer is President of sixonenine design + development, a commercial real estate development firm, and previously worked as a Project Manager for KZ Companies.


Shirley Gibson is a Consultant with Accountemps Inc. and Owner of Gibson Business Service who previously served as Accounting Director of the San Diego Natural History Museum.


Marc Gould is a developer of affordable housing.


David LaRue is an employee of True North Tavern and the owner of two small businesses based in North Park, including Industry Bastards.


Sarah McAlear (incumbent) is co-owner of Bluefoot Bar, an analyst and project manager at the Salk Institute, and the office manager of her family-owned roofing business.



Catherine McCullough is Owner and President/CEO of McCullough Landscape Architecture, Inc. and Past President of the Society for Marketing Professional Services.



Chelsi Sparti is the Associate Director of the Samuel Lawrence Foundation, a nonprofit focused on broader community access in science, medicine, arts, and education.


Melissa Stayner (incumbent) is Associate Geologist and Director of Marketing at LGC Valley Geotechnical Consulting and serves as Secretary/Planning Group Czar of the Building Industry Association of San Diego’s BUILD SD Political Action Committee.


Randy Wilde is working on his Master of Public Policy at UC San Diego. He previously served as Coordinator at the San Diego Regional Clean Cities Coalition and as Senior Project Coordinator at The Center for Sustainable Energy.



Greater Golden Hill Planning Committee Candidates
There are 9 candidates competing for 8 open seats.


Timothy Briggs (incumbent) is an English teacher at Inspire Charter Schools who is pursuing a Master’s in City Planning at San Diego State University.


Susan Bugbee (incumbent) is a retiree of the University of San Diego, where she served as Registrar, and the author of a book about South Park.


Joe Coneglio (incumbent) is a retired Cleveland OH firefighter who serves as Chair of the Reserve Committee at Alaska Airlines.


Victoria Curran (incumbent) is a Professor of Communications and Speech at Grossmont College who represents Golden Hill on the Balboa Park Committee.


Maggie Fulton is a Technical Designer and Job Captain at Taylor Design, a firm specializing in architectural and interior design in health care and education.


Saad Hirmez (incumbent) is a Principal of Hirmez Brothers, a long-time family business that owns and operates supermarkets throughout San Diego, including Millers Market in Golden Hill.


Michael Nazarinia is a Loan Restructuring and Modification Specialist.


Richard Santini is Owner and Head Photographer of RHS Photo Inc. and serves as a member of the board of directors for San Diego Earthworks


Mary Sparks is a Designer at iGroup Design Incorporated Architecture and Interiors who previously worked as a Project Designer at Awbrey Cooke Rogers McGill Architecture.